Then We Ran: Publishing a Novel

OK. Just to prove that I haven’t been wasting all my time during my quasi-retirement, I wrote a novel last year, Then We Ran. Here’s the blurb: In Then We Ran, a bond to run a marathon each month for a year joins two runners, an older man and a younger woman, as they strive to rebuild their lives.

Now comes the dicey part: figuring out how to best publish the book. And there are plenty of options now, including self-publishing and posting an e-book for those who have a Nook, Kindle and so on. But just for the hell of it, I’m going to pursue the more traditional route of trying to find an agent who will help me land a contract with what I guess is now referred to as a mainstream or traditional publisher.

We’ll see. I know virtually nothing about this — although I see some parallels in the world of book publishing to what I’ve seen (and continue to see) in journalism and the news media. And if nothing else, it will give me something new to opine about occasionally on this blog.

Hey, every time I write these days about the crisis in education, the crashing and burning of America’s middle class, or the pitfalls of a weak economy and long-term unemployment I can almost hear the collective yawn roaring back through my computer screen. And, since I’m barred from opining about Her Royal Hotness, Pippa, for reasons that I won’t elaborate on, well that pretty much only leaves the Anybody-But-Romney Republican presidential hopefuls and the Kardashians. Yawn.

So I’ll spend at least some of my time sharing the experience of trying to get a book published.

Andy Rooney, the CBS 60 Minutes pundit and writer who died late last year, remarked that he always found it interesting how many people wanted to write a book — if only they had the time. The assumption, he said (and I’m paraphrasing here) was that writing is easy and that anybody could do it but that things like jobs, family and an addiction to reality TV got in the way.

The solution: put off writing the Great American Novel until retirement. Rooney wondered why so many wanted to write a book in retirement — rather than let’s say argue a case before the Supreme Court or perform open heart surgery.

Well, I’ve written a book. Now we’ll see if it would have been easier to go before the Supreme Court.

4 responses to “Then We Ran: Publishing a Novel

  1. Congrats Rob…Hope the traditional “route” works out. if not, let us know when available on Kindle…we have jess’s book now and really enjoy it.
    As far as the “collective yawn” coming back thru your screen…I think its more of the fact that we have allowed ourselves to be desensitized to waht is happening by the liberal media….after all they have told us for years that what we have now is the “new norm” so when nothing changes, no progress is made or even attempted to put this country back on the right track we dismiss it with the causal oh well. I’m forever the optimist that people will wake in eight or nine months and we will again have something we can really “hope” for…and that’s NOT four more years of this crap!

    • Mark, Thanks. Glad you are enjoying Jessica’s book. And I can almost guarantee that there will be plenty of talk but not much action until after November.

  2. It’s cool to see you going through the hoops of creative writing publishing. You only need to send the book out to about 200 more agents now. Hope you’re having fun adjusting those margins! 🙂

    • Yeah, it’s a whole new world of agents, query letters and so on. But who knows. Maybe I’ll publish and then Mom can suggest Then We Ran instead of The Scarlett Pimpernel for her book club.

Leave a Reply

