New Year’s Resolutions: Good Luck

Well, we’re about ready to shove 2011 aside and welcome 2012. I’m saying that in advance of New Year’s Eve, since, as with almost every other year, I’ll be long asleep before the ball starts to drop in Times Square.

I never make New Year’s resolutions. As I opined at this time last year, why set yourself up for disappointment so early in the year? Still, I know many do establish resolutions or goals for the year. According to a story on CNN, as many as 40 to 45 percent of Americans will make New Year’s resolutions this year. And about half of them will be successful after six months. Good for them.

And while I don’t make resolutions, I do try to pull my head out of the sand at the end of December and take a look at the year ahead.

In 2012, I’ll become eligible for Medicare. And I’m starting to grow my hair longer so when I appear before one of the Obamacare Death Panels those in charge will view me as Comrade Rob instead of Mr. Jewell. Just kidding. (Note to self: I hope.)

In May, I’m planning to head to Pittsburgh to run the half marathon. Might as well keep running as far as I can for as long as I can. What else is there to do when every day now is essentially Saturday? Golf? Nah. As one pundit observed, golf is a good walk spoiled.

And I’ll continue at my post as a pajama-clad citizen journalist, keeping a bleary early morning eye out for the important issues and well as for the ludicrous and ridiculous stories and the miscreants Inside the Beltway and elsewhere who are behind them.

So, good luck with your resolutions.

And Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

