Larry Summers: Don’t Worry, Be Happy

Hey, it’s Friday. And I’m in one of my “Don’t Worry, Be Happy” moods. Weather in NE Ohio today and over the weekend is expected to be exceptional: sunny and mild. I’m going tonight to Kent to have dinner with the Wick poets, as they celebrate their 25th anniversary. (Full disclosure. No booze at dinner. Most likely will stop at Ray’s first.) And I had a great five-mile run this morning, the intermittent lightning bolts and dead left foot notwithstanding.

And I’ve almost accepted the fact that I’m not going to run the half-marathon in Pittsburgh May 3. Pretty sure I could drag my foot along the concrete for the full 13.1 miles — but not sure it’s worth it. I started heading down that road not to run last Tuesday, following the Boston Marathon. As usual, runners from Kenya and Ethiopia dominated the top spots, but the real story for me involved Bill Rodgers.

“Boston Billy.” He’s the four-time Boston Marathon winner who along with runners like Frank Shorter helped to spark the long-distance running boom 30 years ago. Here’s the story about Rodgers as reported in USA Today:

Bill Rodgers, 61, a four-time winner, finished the race in 4:06:49. He last ran in 1999, when he did not finish because of dehydration. He had planned to run last year but was diagnosed with prostate cancer.

“You don’t want your last marathon to be a DNF,” Rodgers said. “It was the most fantastic Boston I’ve ever run in certain ways. I’ve never seen so many people on the course cheering.”

I most likely won’t have that many more opportunities to run a half-marathon. So I’m not going to take a chance that I’ll end on a DNF. WTF.

So don’t worry, be happy!

s-summers-sleeping-large-1And I know that many of you reading this will be stuck today in class or in a conference room listening to someone prattle on and on and so on. My advice: Follow the lead of Larry Summers, one of Obama’s senior and chief economic advisers. He managed (as reported on The Huffington Post and elsewhere) to sleep through a meeting yesterday on the next economic crisis facing all of us: the widespread abuse and corrupt practices involving credit card companies and related lending and interest rate policies.

Hey, if Larry can snooze during a meeting with the president — how much trouble could you get in?

Don’t worry, be happy!

Leave a Reply

